Skip to main content

District 45

Farah N. Louis

Flatbush, East Flatbush, Midwood, Marine Park, Flatlands, Kensington

NYC Paid Safe and Sick Leave Law

Part-time or full-time workers at any size business or nonprofit in NYC have the right to safe and sick leave to care for themselves or anyone they consider family. New Yorkers can call the City’s Call Center at 855-491-2667 or call 311 to facilitate claiming paid sick leave. For questions about how to obtain the necessary medical documentation, see the Health Department’s  FAQs: Frequently Asked Questions.

Workers: Know your worker rights

Employers: You cannot retaliate against workers for exercising their right to safe and sick leave. Know your responsibilities.


Emergency COVID-19 Paid Sick Leave

To address the immediate need of employees affected by COVID-19 who are subject to mandatory or precautionary orders of quarantine or isolation, the new law provides the following:

Employers with 10 or fewer employees and a net income less than $1 million will provide their workers:

  • Job protection for the duration of the quarantine order
  • Guaranteed access to Paid Family Leave and disability benefits (short-term disability) for the period of quarantine including wage replacement for their salaries up to $150,000. Here’s how to apply for Paid Family Leave and disability benefits.

Employers with 11-99 employees and employers with 10 or fewer employees and a net income greater than $1 million will provide their workers:

  • At least 5 days of paid sick leave
  • Job protection for the duration of the quarantine order
  • Guaranteed access to Paid Family Leave and disability benefits (short-term disability) for the period of quarantine including wage replacement for their salaries up to $150,000. Here’s how to apply for Paid Family Leave and disability benefits.

Employers with 100 or more employees, as well as all public employers (regardless of number of employees), will provide their workers:

  • At least 14 days of paid sick leave
  • Guaranteed job protection for the duration of the quarantine order

 The provisions of the quarantine legislation took effect immediately upon the Governor’s signature, ensuring that New York workers are able to take advantage of these benefits now.

Additional Notes:

COVID-19 Paid Sick Leave for Employees

COVID-19 Paid Sick Leave for Employers

Information on New York State Paid Family Leave and Disability Benefits

Frequently Asked Questions


Unemployment Insurance

  • The New York State Department of Labor (NYSDOL) announced the launch of a new application for New Yorkers to apply for traditional Unemployment Insurance or the new COVID-19 Pandemic Unemployment Assistance.
  • NYSDOL created this chart to guide individuals seeking unemployment benefits after passage of the federal CARES Act. The Act provides enhanced Unemployment Insurance (UI) benefits and Pandemic Unemployment Assistance (PUA) for New Yorkers.
  • The Unemployment Benefits and Health Insurance FAQ also provides guidance for those recently unemployed due to COVID-19.
  • The Department of Labor has released a new Public Service Announcement (PSA) to help New Yorkers applying for unemployment benefits
  • You are not required to demonstrate proof of searching for employment if you filed an unemployment claim;
  • Benefits available for New Yorkers – Here is a visual representation of eligibility for various government benefits called “I’ve been affected by Coronavirus (COVID-19). What are some of the benefits I may be eligible for?” You can find it online. Monitor nyc.gov/workers for ongoing updates about workplace laws as NYC seeks to stop the spread of COVID-19

March 13, 2020

As part of Governor Andrew M. Cuomo’s Executive Order, the state will waive the 7-day waiting period for workers to claim unemployment insurance for those that have been put out of work by COVID-19. 


March 11, 2020

Governor Andrew M. Cuomo has announced the state will guarantee two full weeks of paid leave for all state workers who are subject to a mandatory or precautionary order of quarantine as a result of the novel coronavirus. Employees will not have to charge accruals during the time taken off work for quarantine. This will apply to all state employees, regardless of civil service classification, bargaining unit, and regardless of part-time or accrual status.