The Council of the City of New York
Council Member Costa Constantinides, District 22

September 20, 2019
Contact: Terence Cullen

Constantinides Statement on MTA’s Delayed Decision to Install Elevator Station Service in Astoria

Astoria, NY – Council Member Costa Constantinides, District 22, issued the following statement on the MTA’s announcement that Astoria would get elevators at only two subway stations under its new capital plan:

“The train is pulling into the station too late here. While I’ll say yes to the new elevators coming to Broadway and Steinway Street, there are several heavily trafficked stops in Astoria where the elderly, the disabled, and parents with strollers will be stranded as the subway rolls by. Why was this work not done at Broadway when the station was stripped down to beams for mostly cosmetic improvements? Commuters and small businesses along this corridor were just forced to languish for eight months, and are now likely to be subject to more neighborhood disruption during this installation. This just seems like poor planning, more wastefulness, and more disregard by the MTA. It’s time we explore returning the subway system to municipal control as Speaker Corey Johnson has rightly suggested.”


  • Constantinides, in February 2018, rallied for elevator access along the N/W line ahead of planned construction to the Broadway, 30th Avenue, and Ditmars Boulevard Stations
  • The MTA announced this week that an elevator will be installed at the Broadway N/W and Steinway Street M/R stations under its new capital plan.
  • The Broadway station, which was closed from July 2018 to this January, handled an average 4.2 million annual riders between 2013 and 2017; the Steinway Street station averaged 4.8 million riders each year between 2013 and 2018.

Council Member Costa Constantinides represents the New York City Council’s 22nd District, which includes his native Astoria along with parts of Woodside, East Elmhurst, and Jackson Heights. He serves as the chair of the City Council’s Environmental Protection Committee and sits on three additional committees: Sanitation, Resiliency, and Technology. For more information, visit