
Violence or threats of violence against tenants.
 
Interruption or lack of essential services or lack 
of services that make condition of apartment 
unlivable.
 
Owners’ failure to correct unlivable conditions 
when directed by HPD.
 
Bringing “baseless or frivolous” court 
proceedings against legal tenant of apartment.
 
Removing belongings of legal tenant.
 
Removing front door of apartment.
 
Removing lock to front door or making it 
useless.
 
Locking out tenants by changing lock without 
providing new key.

Allowing or committing other acts which disturb 
“comfort, peace, or quiet” of  any tenant.
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If your landlord or someone acting on his or her 
behalf has done any of the following, you are being 
illegally harassed and help is available:

harassing you?
Is your landlordIf you believe you are being harassed, 

file a claim at:

NYC Housing Courts
http://www.courts.state.ny.us/courts/nyc/housing/index.shtml
 

Brooklyn
141 Livingston Street
Brooklyn, NY 11201
(347) 404-9201

Bronx
1118 Grand Concourse
Bronx NY 10451
(718) 466-3025

Staten Island
927 Castleton Avenue
Staten Island, NY 10301
(718) 390-5420

Queens
89-17 Sutphin Blvd
Jamaica, NY 11435
(718) 262-7145

Manhattan
111 Centre Street
New York, NY 10013
(646) 386-5502

Red Hook Community Court
88-94 Visitation Place
Brooklyn, NY 11231
(718) 923-8200

Harlem Community Court
170 East 121st Street
New York, NY 10035
(212) 828-7558



Protecting tenants from landlord harassment

Legal Services Available 
for Low Income Tenants

Help Available for tenants

	 Before Local Law No. 7 of 2008 was enacted earlier this 
year, if a tenant lacked hot water — and it was just the latest 
episode in a long period of repeated violations — his or her only 
recourse was to challenge the landlord each and every time the 
water was turned off, or file an harassment complaint with the 
State Division of  Housing and Community Renewal.

	 Now, with Local Law No. 7, every tenant is empowered 
to confront his or her landlord for such harassment in court. 
By creating a legal violation for “harassment” in and of itself, 
everyday New Yorkers now have the power to end the cycle of 
abuse designed to get them out of their homes. Under this new 
law, landlords found guilty of harassment can face penalties of 
$1,000 to $5,000 for each apartment where a court finds that 
harassment has occurred, as well as an order from the court to 
end the harassment.

	 Individual tenants or groups of tenants may start a 
harassment lawsuit against a landlord in housing court (see the 
back of this flyer for the Housing Court locations). If you go to 

court based on allegations which relate to physical conditions 
of the apartment (i.e., interruption or lack of essential services 
or lack of services that make condition of apartment unlivable, 
owners’ failure to correct unlivable conditions when directed by 
HPD, or allowing or committing other acts which disturb the 
“comfort, peace, or quiet” of any tenant) the legal action must 
be based on a violation on record at the Department of Housing 
Preservation and Development (HPD) or another agency.
 
	 In response to any legal action, the owner can offer 
as a defense that he or she made an attempt to correct the 
condition or service interruption. Owners can request review 
of any tenat’s court filings in the event that the tenant’s previous 
claims were dismissed by a court twice in a ten-year period. 

	 In such a case, following a third complaint that is found to 
be frivolous, an owner may request that the court bar the tenant 
from filing future claims without the court’s permission. The 
court may order the tenant to pay the owner’s attorney’s fees if 
the court determines the claim of harassment to be “frivolous.”

If you have a low income, you may be eligible for free legal services 
(a free attorney). To get the address of the office that services your 
neighborhood, contact:

The City-Wide Task Force on Housing Court, Inc. is a non-
profit coalition established in 1981 to address the systemic challenges 
to justice in New York City’s Housing Court.

If you need a referral to a lawyer and you are not eligible for free legal services 
contact The Bar Association of the City of New York at (212) 626-7373.

Please contact them at (212) 962-4795 or 
at their website www.cwtfhc.org

For More information you can also check the New York City Council 
website at www.council.nyc.gov

The Legal Aid Society 
(212) 577-3300

Legal Services of  New York City
(212) 431-7200


